Dichotomy

Make sense of my dichotomy

I’m stumbling

Hands held out

In front of my face

I’m drenched to the skin

I know I’ve fallen

From your saving grace

I just want to disappear

But if I ever left

I don’t think you’d notice

So I’m still waiting here

I’ll walk up behind you

Put my palms over your eyes

I’ll whisper sweet nothings

Kiss the nape of your neck

And the side of your face

And tell you I’ve got a surprise

I’m on my knees in the dirt

Bleeding from the wounds

Of just being me

And finding it hurt

Because everything that I did

Just wasn’t good enough

To keep your attention

Or to stop you wanting

Someone better; more worthy

So turn in my arms

Let me hold you close

I want your kinda giggle

And the wriggle as I run

My fingersย  under your shirt

Let me gaze at you

I’ll rumple your hair as you smile

This should be fun

On the sidelines and trapped

In fierce jealousy

I sit and look on

As you go about ignoring me

But just as my heart

Begins to despair

You throw me a glance and a smile

You know I still care

Breathing in gasps

Clutching, nails digging

Oh, please make this last

I’ll wrap every last inch

Of myself around you

I’m weak at the knees

Grant my questing mouth

This pleasure…please?

So little left to thrill me

You waver and disappear

I’m clinging to a mirage

Of what I want to be here

Grip me and move me

Let me know you like it hot

Curl your hands in my hair

You can take everything I’ve got

Arms out wide in the pouring rain

Every part of me is soaking.

Face to the skies – I give up

Is this pleasure or shame?

Make sense of my dichotomy

I don’t know what to do

I’m lonely cos you quit me

But baby,

I can’t quit you.

00OctPoWriMo

21 comments on “Dichotomy

  1. This is both sexy and disturbing — so, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Twindaddy says:

    This one is incredible, Lizzi. I really like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. zoebyrd says:

    ***applause***
    ****the crowd goes wild***

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This made me ache with sadness for communications misunderstood.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. seekingmeme says:

    Wonderful, wonderful! I really love the dichotomy!
    “Bleeding from the wounds/Of just being me” – Oh, how I can relate to this line!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Holyโ€ฆ wow. I don’t know whether it’s hot. Or creepy. Or creepily hot? Is it bad that I lean more towards it being hot? Love this.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow Lizzi- this is powerful stuff! Both heartbreaking and hopeful with a lingering sensuality to top it all off. Well done miss poet. Your words always always take me ‘somewhere’…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nobody is worth all of that…fuck ’em!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The dichotomy of this relationship is painfully too familiar too me. You have presented it very, very well and that only comes from knowing. Powerful poetry, Lizzi!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      You’d think that, wouldn’t you. It’s actually a bit of an extrapolation. In fact, a total extrapolation, taken to the Nth degree. So there’s that (at least). But thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ It was an interesting one to write ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Well?

