So I stand in the dark

Stand in the Dark and Smile

Sidelined and eclipsed

In the presence of glorious newness

Having lost whatever ‘it’ there used to be

And feeling worse than useless

I stand in the dark

And smile sweetly

 

 

Tying my tongue with the old adage

“If you can’t say anything nice, then quit

Talking” and so I feel like giving up

And silently closing the lid on all of it

I stand in the dark

And smile sweetly

 

 

Falling afoul of the unwritten rule

Though it’s a thing I tried (and failed?) before

It’s nice to cheer your friend’s success

Surely there’s always room for more?

I stand in the dark

And smile sweetly

 

 

No longer sought or talked to

I am borne, not welcomed in

Platitudes and vagueness mask the truth

Punishment to match imagined sin

I stand in the dark

And smile sweetly

 

 

Overlooked; excluded; left behind

As ever, it’s naught at all to do with me

But with their star ascendant, my light dies

Heart torn asunder, riddled with jealousy

I stand in the dark

And smile sweetly.

 

 

The world grows shadows which cover me

Waves of hurt overwhelmingly

Make me want to give up

For now

Or Forever

We shall see.

So

I stand

In the dark

And smile sweetly…

16 comments on “So I stand in the dark

  1. Mandi says:

    I think I’ve stood exactly where are. As recently as last week, maybe even yesterday, do I’ll just smile sweetly back from my little dark corner over here.

    Like

  2. serins says:

    hmmm…. may you find light in the dark places of this world….

    Like

  3. Mike says:

    very nice. we have all felt that way one time or another.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sandy Ramsey says:

    Funny that you should write what I’ve been feeling a little of lately. I don’t like it…the feeling, that is. The poem is excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Ack! You as well, my Darling American? Goodness me, we really are going to be all standing in our dark little corners, smiling our heads off and trying not to cry, at this rate! It’s a crappy feeling. I’m someway to almost but not quite over this one… *sigh*

      Thanks for liking the poem though 🙂

      Like

  5. Twindaddy says:

    I stood in the dark
    Deprived of my might
    I then reached over
    And flipped on the light

    A world full of colors
    So lively and bold
    Jumped up to greet me
    Mine to behold

    A choice was made
    To suffer no longer
    With those chains broken
    I was suddenly stronger

    I confronted my demons
    I shed their wrath
    Blazed my own trail
    Embarked on a new path

    My dearest Lizzi,

    Know that you can talk to me any time you need. If I’m awake and able to I will answer. You are never a bother to me.

    Liked by 2 people

Well?

