Nightmare

      3928769965_f598c70f8d_zsource

There’s the sound again

of footsteps gaining on my every sleeping moment.

Rest is fleeting as I look behind myself and wonder,

“Who could possibly be gaining so quickly

yet unseen?”

tumblr_mnix2ru9ej1r35s4xo1_400

It happens most nights.

why can’t I seem to remember faces,

when I see them night after night?

 tumblr_mnix2ru9ej1r35s4xo1_400

The alleys behind the tenements of my childhood

obelisks of red clay brick and fire escapes.

The footsteps still follow, voices in the distance.

Running now,

running,

I’m gaining on safety.

Almost home.

tumblr_mnix2ru9ej1r35s4xo1_400

Jumping the barriers to my kitchen window,

a hand pulls me back.

Who is this invisible foe?

And why is home never safe?

 

tumblr_mnix2ru9ej1r35s4xo1_400source

2 comments on “Nightmare

  1. lrconsiderer says:

    What does it mean to you?

    Like

  2. zoebyrd says:

    Its a recurring dream ive had since childhood. ..that photo is of the building where we lived for a while as kids

    Like

Well?

