A Hypothetical Conclusion

Peace Rose

Go! Go! Go!

Hands grip, arms pull

Legs piston furiously

Windblown tears streak down

Unfeeling cheeks

 

Go! Go! Go!

Blood hums through veins

Determination pulsing

Each tyred mile

Beneath my wheels

 

Go! Go! Go!

Joints scream, muscles shriek

Sweat burns my hollow eyes

Breath rasps into burning lungs

Mea culpa and be silent, tempted tongue.

 

Go! Go! Go!

I outstrip others 1, 2, 3

Knowing when I return

Stripped, reflected failure

Is all I will see

 

Go! Go! Go!

I glimpse a guttered bird

Eyes wide and flyblown

Unnatural angles of impact

In peach-grey feathered shroud

 

Go! Go! Go!

Envy rises like bile

For the dove at peace

My salt-slicked body feels alive

My stagnant spirit rotten on the half-shell

 

Go! Go! Go!

Mind whirs nonsense

Spinning alongside my wheels

My heartbeat rises black

Behind my eyes

 

Go! Go! Go!

Brain filled with white noise

No sense of the impending

Rainbow explosion of sound

My thoughts have hurtled too far

 

Go! Go! Go!

I am flying; accidentally free

There will be flowers

At the roadside

And peace for me

13 comments on “A Hypothetical Conclusion

  1. Linda Kay says:

    Interesting that one of your labels is roadkill…. interesting and breathtaking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Twindaddy says:

    Great poem, Lizzi! I loved the rhythm of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cleemckenzie says:

    Inspiration from death often produces some beautiful words. It seems it did this time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Roshni says:

    Love the sensation of speed, adrenaline and then sadness at a snuffed out life!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Yes – that bit was unexpected – the sensation of speed. I didn’t add the repeating ‘Go! Go! Go!’ until I started putting thoughts from my brain onto the page, and then I quite liked the stanza structure with that beginning so I decided to ‘go!’ with it and see how it worked out πŸ™‚

      Thank you πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Your poetry always saddens me. I wonder what it would sound like if you truly loved yourself and realized how special and talented you truly are. I hope to hear that one day, Lizzie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I have no idea! Wow…I’ve not ever thought about that. I guess it might be fuller of beaches and nature and enjoyment and less about escape.

      That’s quite some comment. Lots to think about there…thank you Rena.

      Like

Well?

