Waste

Waste

Now I see

You caught me

Busted me

Early

Saw me

For who I am

Really.

Called me

On my inadequacy

My cowardice

My inconsistency.

I have no opacity

And the things

I never want

Anyone to see

You’ve known

For so long.

Yet you’ve borne with me

(Humoured me?)

But now it’s

Come to the surface

Inevitably;

I cannot undo this

I don’t see how to fix this

And in the face

Of accusations

Am mute:

Defenseless.

 

Guilty.

 

Pitifully

My words –

Meagre apology –

Won’t be enough

I know,

To reverse

Or repair.

I can’t cry

(Or can I?)

Because I knew

One day

I’d be found out

And I’m so sad it was you

Who

My carelessness

My failings

My ineptness

My inability

To somehow be

An acceptable human

(Except in edited form)

Have crushed.

And all that keeps me

From breaking

(Though my heart

Is torn)

Is the knowledge that you

Cannot possibly think

As little of me

As I do.

 

Well?

