Guest Bards: The Reaper’s Call

It’s funny where the mind takes you when you’re writing. I started this poem with a completely different direction in mind, but this is where it ended when the words took control and guided me towards their intended destination. DISCLAIMER: This is not how I feel and does not represent anything going on in my life, this is just where my words led me.

Drun Suicide

Save me

I can’t make myself move

I no longer care

Nothing can phase me

I’ve succumbed to despair

My mind says one thing

My heart another

Torn between them

My soul is smothered

I’m trapped in a vile world,

Where the endings are the same as every other

We’re only here to die

Apathy has claimed me

It flows through my veins

It seeps from my pores

I’m shackled in chains

I want to do nothing

I exist all alone

Wallow in misery

My heart to disown

Save me

I know not where to head

Right and wrong unperceived

No pursuit of happiness

I’ve been deceived

My heart has been broken

Time and again

Dismantled with malice

Like the wall of Berlin

I’m losing my only dream,

I can use some guiding light, some place to go

If you hear me let me know

Darkness envelops me

An ominous black shroud

Nothing familiar

Here in this cloud

I reach out my hands

There’s nothing to hold

I falter, I fall

The ground is so cold

He may be out of his mind

But some day you will find

That sanity’s left us all blind

And dragged us all behind

I’d shed some tears

Had I the desire

But they’ll never come

My eyes afire

I don’t wish to see

How far I’ve fallen

My ears prick up

The reaper is callin’

I can see the pictures clear as yesterday

Pictures all my own

I can hear the voices begging you to stay

But know you’re not alone

I drift to his voice

A melancholy call

He makes me promises

He will stop my fall

He reaches out

A skeletal hand

I accept it

Then leave this land

No pulse inside of me

Stone cold lips and heresy

All lies into a degree

Losing who I wanna be

Don’t weep for me

My suffering has ended

I finally found peace

In this darkness descended

I am still with you

Through good times and bad

I’ll feel with you

The happy and sad

Tonight we all die young

Tonight we all die

Tonight we all die young

*Italicized text is lyrics from “Save Me” by Avenged Sevenfold.

 

DrunProfile

BIO:
Twindaddy is a sarcastic and depressed father of 14 year old twins and a 3 year old toddler. All boys. Send help. While bored at work he likes to read blogs and write things you may or may not enjoy. No matter what, you can always count on this trooper to be true to his credo: Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.​

Catch Twindaddy at Stuphblog

Bards’ Verdict: A powerful, calm look at a very thorny subject, and beautiful interweaving of song lyrics ( a first here, I believe). It is written so beautifully you can almost see the fatal attraction…
26 comments on “Guest Bards: The Reaper’s Call

  1. msenecal68 says:

    TD you captured the essence of that song so powerfully!! I have always enjoyed their music and now with your words interweaved with their’s, I have a new found appreciation for you and them both!! Bravo my friend, once again your words are powerful and meaningful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LauraALord says:

    First off, amazing poetry. You have a fantastic talent for words. Two, your choice in music rocks.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Well done, TD! Very good stuff, as usual.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kerry B says:

    Nice! Good thing you put that disclaimer though;) you definitely have a way with words.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Too close to home for me to jump with joy at the subject matter, but you captured it, and that give me a bit of solace in knowing that someone else understands.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Twindaddy says:

    I actually wrote this for my blog, but when Lizzi invited me over…

    Like

  7. Twindaddy says:

    Reblogged this on Stuphblog and commented:
    I’ve been in a bit of a writing funk lately. I haven’t had that blogging feeling for the last few weeks. The only thing I’ve really felt like writing is poetry, which is what happens when I dip into these moods.

    My good pal Lizzi invited me to drop some rhymes over at her side-project blog, Well Tempered Bards. I was quite honored by the invitation (still am) because I envy Lizzi’s talent with words. That she thinks enough of my poetry to ask me to contribute humbled and honored me.

    Please head over to check out my poem (and read the disclaimer first), and if you’re a fan of poetry follow the blog. Lizzi is an amazing poet, and she frequently features other bloggers and their poetic talents.

    Thank you again for having me, Lizzi.

    Like

    • zoebyrd says:

      Tagging on here. Lizzi has by far been the more active bard of late as I can totally commiserate with your current funk and blog drought! Just wanted to thank you for gracing us with your work especially at a time when its difficult to squeeze out words! Also thanks for the disclaimer …I think you put some at ease with that after such an intense subject! Thanks again! Zoe

      Like

  8. serins says:

    You have such a talent with words.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. NancyTex says:

    I hesitated to ‘like’ this. The writing is exceptionally good, but the subject matter makes my heart ache for you.

    Like

  10. Elyse says:

    I’m really glad for that disclaimer, TD. Because that is no place to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. freakin’ awesome…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. […] funny video there, courtesy of Aussa and Gigi. And if you didn’t read this week’s Guest Bard, Twindaddy, over at the Well Tempered Bards – GO! Now! I’ll wait for […]

    Like

  13. hastywords says:

    this was really good
    I feel it
    I cry

    Good job

    Like

Well?

