The music in you

If you say you can’t get the beat

Or don’t know music, forgive me

For apart from pitying the desolation

Of the place you now find yourself

I must point out the error of your ways;

You are wrong.

You began with rhythm,

Increasing in tempo

And ecstasy

Before the monotonous thrashing

Propelled the halves of you to meet

In an unheard crescendo

Which nonetheless heralded

A new human.

You grew

Cradled by your mother’s heartbeat

The cadence of her voice

The timpani of her digestion

And percussion in every moment as she walked.

At night, when she slowed down

You awoke and began to play back

Letting her know that you had heard her song

And were beginning to harmonise.

You were born into a cacophony

Gradually you learned to sort out

The orchestra of the world

Into its constituent parts

Your ears becoming accustomed at honing in

On various sections:

Strings

Woodwind

Ocean

The sound of a dropped coin

Or a loved one’s voice

The more you lived, the more you heard

The more you heard, the better you know

For it is in you – this world music

It is cell-deep and singing

Wildly

Your own song

As unique as the whales

Who bellow their tunes

Using the base of the ocean

To refract their solos

And send them worldwide

Your voice

Your movements

Your heartbeat

Your song

As unique as your gait

As wild as your rolling eyes

As lilting as your voice

Changing each day

With your moods and movements

You say you don’t know music

You say you can’t get the beat

But you have only to look in the mirror

To see the truth:

My dear,

You ARE the song.

 

For Jennie, who asked nicely.

15 comments on “The music in you

  1. LauraALord says:

    Now then, THIS WAS BEAUTIFUL. Lovelovelove

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zoebyrd says:

    Yeesh even I have been a bit abscent here!!! I think this could be one of my lizzi favorites! I love this one! Funny cuz I have problems w music but this makes them somehow better!

    Like

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Really? AWESOME! And don’t worry – I know you’ve been busy off gallivanting with Joy. I hope you had an awesome time.

      I’m glad you like this. And the site’s ticking along alright 🙂

      Like

  3. Jennie Saia says:

    Oh, thankyouthankyouthankyou. I loved it all – sex as music = mind blown, and so true! But most of all, I loved: “For it is in you – this world music / It is cell-deep and singing / Wildly”

    I really wanna go outside and dance around barefoot now while the squirrels sing chorus.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Ohhhh I want to hear that you DID JUST THAT! And yeah – if we sing, then I guess the squirrels do, too> Ohhhh Jennie, if you listen close enough you’ll hear the ocean and the tectonic plates moving in rhythm and realise that the whole earth is constantly in song…

      *HUGE happy smiles*

      I’m glad you loved it so much, my dear. It’s all yours 😀

      Like

  4. This is quite lovely Lizzi. I breathe music.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

