Unrest

A soft haze struggles to
carry me to the other side
before the shadows descend,
and the darkness of Hell
threatens to tell me the truth.
In the comfort of shade,
between the twilight of sleep
and wakeful realities,
the window lies open to another time.
I close my eyes
and pretend you haven’t left.
Lying beside me
rhythmic breaths still fill your lungs.
Deeper, the shadows alight.
Searing embers threaten to consume this sacred place.
My guard wanes.
My defenses diminish,
Perdition beckons.
I see your face in the flames.
Your eyes are closed.
The disquiet of dreams is not foreboding.
It’s over, self-deceit won’t mask the pain of waking alone.  Z~

6 comments on “Unrest

  1. Lizzi R says:

    Beautiful. And heartbreaking. You're good at these.

    Like

  2. psychochef says:

    I read this when it first came through, but I was rushing from place to place, so I didn't have time to leave a comment that would do it justice.

    Like Lizzi said, this is a heart-breaking piece. I also think it's one of your strongest poems. The perdition stanza is particularly striking. Hell has nothing to do with the “afterlife” – it's a place some people visit every day.

    Love to you, my friend.

    Like

  3. Zoe Byrd says:

    I could stand to be good at other stuff fer sure…

    Like

  4. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thanks Karen..For taking your time and thinking…I appreciate your comments so much!
    I just like the word “perdition.”

    Like

  5. psychochef says:

    It's a great word. I can't remember the last time I saw it used prior to your poem.

    Like

  6. Zoe Byrd says:

    movies…. ” The Road to Perdition”

    Like

Well?

