Guest Bard: The Shape of July

Your name, quietly spun
into a thread of conversation
those coffee colored eyes
I haven thought of in years

battered trailer west of Dixie Highway
July burning through checkered drapes
your hands printed their metaphor
of loneliness under my skin
the shape of a summer night
woven deep into the darkness

even now the sound of your name
slips over my tongue
rolls in my mouth like hard candy
temptation to bite
into the soft, sweet center of July.

Marcia Kester Doyle is the author of the humorous blog Menopausal Mother, where she muses on the good, the bad and the ugly side of menopausal mayhem. She is a contributing author to In The Powder Room, Humor Outcasts and What The Flicka. Her work has also appeared on Scary Mommy, The Erma Bombeck Writers Workshop, Suburbia Interrupted, Midlife Boulevard, Generation fabulous and many others. She is the recent winner of VoiceBoks Top Hilariously Funny Parent Bloggers 2014 and one of the 2013 Circle Of Moms Top 25 Bloggers. Marcia has contributed stories to several books including The Mother Of All Meltdowns, Sunshine After The Storm and the Life Well Blogged series.  Her first book, Who Stole My Spandex, will be released by Blue Lobster Book Co. in July 2014.

Find her at:
   http://www.facebook.com/MenopausalMother
     http://www.twitter.com/MenoMother
     http://plusgoogle.com/113320616211668910891/posts
     http://pinterest.com/marciakdoyle/
     http://bloglovin.com/en/blog/3764454    

Bards’ verdict: Quite simply delicious, Marcia – you have a talent for transporting your reader with a few, so-simple lines, into the midst of something hugely fragile and emotionally complex…it’s mind-blowing. 

22 comments on “Guest Bard: The Shape of July

  1. Phyllis says:

    Very nice Marcia!

    Like

  2. Phyllis says:

    Very nice Marcia!

    Like

  3. Zoe Byrd says:

    I think I may want to write like you if I ever grow up… wow…even the title…thank you so much for guest barding! I'm sure Lizzi conveyed our gratitude but let me second that in a huge way…

    Like

  4. Mis Anthropy says:

    Wow that's a good poem!

    Like

  5. Thank you, Phyllis!

    Like

  6. I am honored to be featured—thank you so much for having me!

    Like

  7. Lizzi R says:

    I hope I gushed enough about this one – it's GORGEOUS. Really, properly, evocatively so.

    Like

  8. Bryan Jones says:

    You're a lady of many talents, Marcia – but then again,we already knew this.

    Like

  9. Thank you for having me over, Lizzi. I love the site!

    Like

  10. Awwwww….you are too kind. These words mean a lot to me! ❤

    Like

  11. Thank you, Daniel! I appreciate you taking the time to come over and read it.

    Like

  12. psychochef says:

    Beautiful work. I especially love that last stanza. Karen

    Like

  13. Tamara Woods says:

    Marcia! Is there anything you can't do? Absolutely lovely.

    Like

  14. Theresa Wiza says:

    LOVED this side of you! WOW!

    Like

  15. dale cooper says:

    Lovely Marcia, very evocative.

    Like

  16. I appreciate that more than you can know since I know what a good writer and poet you are! XO

    Like

  17. Thank you Theresa—I'm just full of surprises, LOL!

    Like

  18. Thank you so much, Dale. I appreciate that you come over here to read this!

    Like

Well?

