A quick and heartfelt cry

It’s been days since we last spoke
And I’m wondering why
Did something between us get broke?
All that I know is I
Am wrapped many layers deep
In such insecurity
I can’t ask you outright, so keep
It public by veiling in poetry
Just know that I see you
I’ll wait til you’ve something to say
I’m not trying to reject you
But I can go too far the other way
Sometimes I can frighten
(I think by clinging too tight)
I wish you’d enlighten
Me so I can put this right
Was I inadvertently unkind?
Did I say something rude?
It’s rolling around in my mind
Don’t know what to conclude
If it was something I’ve done
I know that I’ll curse the day
I promise, I’d NEVER intend
To push you (of all people) away
Yet it suddenly dawns on me
That I’m of no consequence
Your life might’ve got busy
Maybe there is no offense
I’m just not important enough
(I’d rather that, than that we had an issue)
Hope you’re off doing wonderful stuff.
In the meantime, I miss you.

8 comments on “A quick and heartfelt cry

  1. Tracie Nall says:

    It is like you were in my mind when you wrote this. I could apply it to a couple of relationships I've had.

    Like

  2. Lizzi R says:

    Ack! Sorry you've been through this.

    It turned out to be okay for me (thank goodness, because I was getting ready to annihilate everything again) and it was just that I wasn't of consequence by comparison to Real Life. I can live with that 🙂

    Like

  3. Joy Christi says:

    Glad you worked it out. We tend to make things worse in ojr heads sometimes, no? I cannot figure out how someone under duress could write something so flowy and musical. Good on you!

    Like

  4. Lizzi R says:

    I'm glad too. SO relieved.

    Yes. The damn head doesn't help and tends to make things eleventybajillion times worse when it thinks (and overthinks) these things.

    As for the flowy musical…I've long had the knack of making the twistier bits of life more palatable/manageable by rendering them poetical to get them OUT of me. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  5. Zoe Byrd says:

    The rumination of a Clark eh? What did I do? What did I do? WHat did I do? Im sure I did something …. argh! This says that perfectly (including the “argh!” part)

    Like

  6. Sandy Ramsey says:

    Well, this is a good way to get rid of the junk, now isn't it? It is lovely…beyond actually. Quite honest and I can totally understand it since my own mind can take me to this place.
    While I understand it, I have that one line I wish I didn't read. Care to guess? No?

    'I'm just not important enough.'

    I would prefer to think, speaking for myself of course, that while someone is busy going about whatever it is, they think of me from time to time and say to themselves, 'I have to share this with her'. I am quite certain that does happen, when life gets in the way.

    Like

  7. Lizzi R says:

    You know, I read that as 'ruination' first, and to be honest, both would fit.

    Like

  8. Lizzi R says:

    I read a fascinating comment the other day from our BloppyQueen, Julie, as she justified her reasons for turning comments off on her blog, and she remarked that certain people “hoarde” comments – that she'd prefer to be conversing and promoting out in social media, for everyone to see.

    And I realised I do that. I serially do that. Each meaningful interaction is something I treasure and grab close (wherever it happens), and each friend, too, and I related to that comment so much, as though I am a dragon sitting atop a pile of beautiful treasures which have been stolen and were never meant to belong to it…

    I understand you not liking that line. In this case it was preferable to the alternative (that there was intentional rejection. I don't think there was, in this instance) and my heart has grown increasingly light as the weekend progressed.

    Like

Well?

