Behold – the tree of words

Background: We wanted to do something different as Christmas presents one year, so I wrote this, and we put it with watercolour paintings of trees, in frames, and gave them to our nearest and dearest. Since then I’ve had more fun making images with poetry (did it today, in fact) and LOVE the versatility and cross-over of using the words to physically create the picture.

10 comments on “Behold – the tree of words

  1. bethteliho says:

    There it is!! My favorite poem of yours (so far). I love love love this. Ever word is perfect, but together in the form of their subject….brilliant. I'm so glad you posted this for others to see!

    Like

  2. Lizzi R says:

    If they ever rock up here to see it…but I'm glad you like it so much. It's one of my faves for form and interest, certainly πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. Zoe Byrd says:

    HOW COOL IS THAT!!!!????

    LET ME ANSWER THAT….AMAZING!!!!!

    love that all the words fall appropriatly into where they actually belong in the tree!

    SPECTACULAR! !!!!

    No…not TOO excited why do you ask!?

    Like

  4. Lizzi R says:

    Lol Thank you. It took a bit of doing, as I recall, but mostly just flowed. It's one I like πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. psychochef says:

    Lizzi, this is awesome (on so many levels). Love it!

    Like

  6. Lizzi R says:

    *takes a little bow* Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it so much πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Charli Mills says:

    That is so cool! What a fun image to create for a family tree out of names and places, too!

    Like

  8. Lizzi R says:

    I guess you could!

    Like

  9. Bryan Jones says:

    That's really clever, Lizzi. I love the 'going nowhere' branch that fizzles out. I imagine with the water-colour paintings it would have been even more striking,

    Like

  10. Lizzi R says:

    Thank you πŸ™‚ I like the 'going nowhere' one, too. I think my favourite is about the 'dizzying heights of stars and sky' πŸ™‚

    Like

Well?

