My Darling Other

Next year is landmark.
In calendar, printed clear: that auspicious date
Though neither of us remember it now.
Yet we will celebrate as though we did
For from that month – September – came;
The serendipity of our meeting.
Thence our lives were intertwined
Thence altered irrevocably
As we came to belong
To each other.
Stunning.
And yet not,
For how could I have known
That within me lay a brash and brazen
Strong, free-thinking woman, with soul akin
To yours? For you were golden
Tiger-striped with vim and vitriol;
Creativity dripped from every aspect
And confidence from every pore.
And you wanted me:
For the first time in my maligned life
I was sought – my company enjoyed
Nay, cherished
And it blew my mind.
A few months in, we both relaxed
Our friendship set in stone and precious jewels.
Our lives slipped neatly into one another’s
And our houses became each other’s home
(Though neither were our own sanctuary)
But mostly, once the secrets were out
Dark childhoods shared
And that understanding;
That kinship
Settled.
We flew
Rejoicing in
The delight of deepest friendship
We shared our words
We wrote flash poetry
We swore and laughed and drank wine
We realised our cup would always overflow.
No depths were too deep
No heights too high
No gap too wide
That we couldn’t bridge it
Together.
And united we faced our dragons:
Fathers.
Mothers.
Abuse.
Mental illness.
Bad marriage.
Kids.
Sick husband.
Miscarriage.
Attempted suicide.
Infertility.
We’ve anointed one another
With our deepest truths
With tears
With mud
With laughter
With chocolate war-paint
And spilled tea.
We’ve talked for more hours
And about more subjects
Than I ever thought were possible
To share with another human
Without being bored.
And still, side by side
Minds attuned to perfection,
Even with distance of cities between,
We face our futures
Knowing, deep down
That this landmark
Is only the very
Beginning.

17 comments on “My Darling Other

  1. bethteliho says:

    CHILLS. I got chills. This is so incredibly heartfelt and beautiful!!! So sweet, your friendship with your Bezzie. 🙂
    Everyone should be lucky enough to find a friend like this in life. It's truly a gift.

    Like

  2. Zoe Byrd says:

    Dunno what to say….occassionally you render me speechless…..so I will just 🙂

    Like

  3. Lizzi R says:

    I'm very lucky. I wish that everyone could know this kind of friendship – it's life-altering stuff.

    Like

  4. Lizzi R says:

    That's no mean feat! THANK YOU 😀

    ( 😉 )

    Like

  5. Chris Carter says:

    OH I just KNEW it would be gorgeous. I knew it!!!

    Like

  6. Lizzi R says:

    Awwwwh thanks Chris 🙂 *goes all glowy*

    Like

  7. And truly, that's what soul mates do. Linking.

    Like

  8. Lizzi – wow – yet again you amaze me with your *beautifullysparklyspecial* words, and I want more, and I don't even like poetry that much. Actually, thanks to you and Beth, it's growing on me.

    How lucky you are to have her, but how lucky she is to have *you* (I'm still trying these ***). A friendship like this is something to be treasured, which clearly you do.

    Like

  9. psychochef says:

    “We've anointed one another with our deepest truths” – stunning. I love that line so much!

    Like

  10. Lizzi R says:

    It is indeed, Michelle, and I have 😀

    Like

  11. Lizzi R says:

    Awwwh thanks Mandi. That's actually a huge compliment, and I really appreciate you telling me that you're learning to like poetry through what I'm creating. Like, HUGE! Wow!

    I feel a bit smug sometimes…I certainly hit the jackpot, and it's lovely to know that she thinks so too 🙂

    You're doing *so* well with the stars, m'dear – you're GETTING IT 😀 😀 *happydance*

    Like

  12. Lizzi R says:

    Why thank you so much 😀 I'm glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the feedback

    Like

  13. What a wonderful tribute to your friend and your relationship with her! Beautiful free form and lovely flow. Thanks for linking up on my blog!

    Like

  14. Lizzi R says:

    Thanks for prompting it 🙂

    Like

  15. Sandy Ramsey says:

    How blessed the two of you are to have found each other. It is very hard for me to pinpoint an emotion right now. This says so much and says it all beautifully. You are a wonder!

    Like

  16. Lizzi R says:

    We really, truly, totally are. I think the world got THIS bit right, at the very least, when it On Purpose made our paths cross 😀

    Thank you, my lovely *hugs*

    Like

  17. Ginger says:

    Love this! So glad you found her! Every gal needs this in her life! I’ve had mine since forever….

    Like

Well?

