O winter, tha’art a fickle bitch

Bruised again, the sky swirls
Billious yellow, ombre’d in grey
And threatening
Shaking its fist at my country
With all the force a Polar Vortex
(now defrosted)
Can muster.

It flies closer to the ground
The shelf of cumulo nimbus riding tight:
Suckered to the roof of the city
And not letting go

I hold my breath

It begins, sending me running for my car
That welcome shelter as the rain begins in earnest
No longer the half-exciting splatty drop
But thick, mean rain
Hurled down with malice
And vengeful intent to wash us all away

Wipers scream against the wash
World blurring, water-torn
As rivers rise up alongside every road
And begin to flood over pavements
So rapidly – there is no space left
The grounds are full
My country is saturated
And beginning to crumble

O miserable walkers
I half want to stop and take you in
Get you out of the rain, but you won’t all fit
And minutes in, you’re already soaked through

The skies swirl on, a break of blue here, to tease
And then, from spite and sheer bitchiness
Darkness closes around
And hail is spat down
Peppering the world with shards of ice
Viciously pelting those who remain unprotected

And still the waters rise.

Yet by the time I’m home
It’s all but blown over
Blue skies are back
And hints of shining gold
To offset the moody grey

Those clouds, sent scudding on their way
Knowing that once again they’ve won

My people are disposessed
Homeless
Cold
Hurt

Rent by storm after storm
Malevolence made manifest
By winter.

20 comments on “O winter, tha’art a fickle bitch

  1. Jean says:

    wow! I don't think I have read any of your poetry before. this is really beautful and very evocative. really powerfully touching xox jean

    Like

  2. Really, really powerful. Fantastic, Lizzi!

    Like

  3. Lizzi R says:

    Thanks Jessica. I'm sick of winter storms – can you tell?

    Like

  4. Lizzi R says:

    No? Only half the stuff here is mine :p Get reading….

    Thanks for liking it πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. Lizzi,
    That is powerful and beautiful. So glad I wasn't there!

    Like

  6. bethteliho says:

    Vivid visuals viscerate. (I made that last word up I think) Three V's to reflect how this poem *felt* for me.
    You rock my socks off, Lizzi.

    Like

  7. Lizzi R says:

    Thanks Pattie. And no – I'm glad you weren't there – it was horrible!

    Like

  8. Lizzi R says:

    “I know you can be overwhelmed and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be…whelmed?”
    “I dunno – I think you can in England…”

    I like made-up words, so that's awesome, and thanks for sharing how it felt for you πŸ™‚

    Glad you like it.

    Like

  9. Zoe Byrd says:

    This was a great read….and believe me I know a fickle bitch when I see one! Well done in the imagery dept. I got a real feel for the winter this year there.

    Like

  10. Lizzi R says:

    I cheated – didn't have to use any imagination for this πŸ˜€

    Like

  11. Damn. You are fucking talented. Big.

    Like

  12. Lizzi R says:

    I can put words together prettily sometimes. I couldn't read them to you though πŸ™‚ Thanks ❀

    Like

  13. Zoe Byrd says:

    Oh. Hell .okay. who's the fickle bitch now little miss cheaty pants?! HA! I wish I could not use imagination sooo well.

    Like

  14. Lizzi R says:

    :p Winter here sucks. Even writing it and how much it's hurt my country sucks. But the poem worked out okay.

    Like

  15. Zoe Byrd says:

    yeah, Im sorry winter has been so hard. Its been a tough season. :/

    Like

  16. Lizzi R says:

    The world over, I think. Apart from a few down in the Southern states it seems to have sucked royally for most of the Northern hemisphere.

    Like

  17. This is a wonderful group of words Lizzi. You have a talent for imagergy:)
    The subject not so wonderful,considering the massive devestation parts of your country is undergoing wrought by the onslaught of rain and stormy weather.

    Like

  18. Lizzi R says:

    Why thank you for such a nice compliment. No, I don't like the muse either. It's mean.

    Like

  19. Kimberly says:

    Are you in Canada and didn't tell me. Slewt. Kidding.
    I will not stop praising your talent to write.

    Like

  20. Lizzi R says:

    Duh if I was in CANADA I would've brought you CAKE by now…

    (thanks πŸ™‚ )

    Like

Well?

