Reluctant Gratitude

 I appreciate the time
-to know each other
– to understand the other
-to discover together


There will never be enough time to forget you.


Culture and circumstance made us naïve.
Here, all the dirty work is done. 
I only know how to live in a place
that takes life for granted.
Where you come from nothing is easy
it’s all dirty work.


I appreciate Courage
-to do the right thing
-to make a difficult choice
-to love another enough to try to save them
-to go back in time and circumstance
-to risk everything
-to love you, trust you, let you go


I’m grateful
-for time spent together
-for everything you’ve taught me
-for what we taught each other
-to know the risk had to be taken


Even though I won’t see you again, I’m grateful.
7 comments on “Reluctant Gratitude

  1. Lizzi R says:

    Beautiful, and kind of heartbreaking.

    Like

  2. Zoe Byrd says:

    Bummer I was going for TOTALLY heartbreaking. …haha. ..

    Like

  3. Lizzi R says:

    :p I might just be too full already. Try someone on more of an even keel and see if you break them…

    Like

  4. bethteliho says:

    Wow Zoe. So heartfelt and sad. Beeeeeautiful.

    Like

  5. psychochef says:

    I read this when I got up this morning, but I didn't have time to comment. That turned out to be a good thing, because I now I get to read it again : ) I'm a huge fan of your poetry. I love the title of this piece.

    “I only know how to live in a place that takes life for granted.” Sadly, so true. xoxoxoxoKaren

    Like

  6. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thank you Beth!

    Like

  7. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thanks Karen, Im forever grateful for your reads and comments… xo yerself! Z~

    Like

Well?

