On The Occassion of My 50 and 1/2 Birthday

I now realize so much of me
will be left unfinished
not because life is short,
but because so many have such faith
that I am already more
than I will ever become.
I have never turned to my friends,
and come away
without a restored spirit,
a renewed sense of tenacity,
an enrichment of my soul. ljc


*Hooking up with Two Shoes Tuesday…the prompt is “call.” You may wonder how this fits, but my friends always call me to be a better person…cuz they already think I am…go figure!*

Josie Two Shoes

27 comments on “On The Occassion of My 50 and 1/2 Birthday

  1. Shamu Boo says:

    This being the case, I can tell you know how rich a person you truly are. What a gift to be aware of it. Lovely thoughts!

    Like

  2. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thanks freddie…you def have a place in that second stanza…

    Like

  3. Lizzi R says:

    Scrumptious 😀 Friends make us better people, forsure.

    Like

  4. Meliss says:

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    Like

  5. I love this poem, and can so well relate! I will need to live to at least 200 in order to become all that my friends envision me to be, but it's a wonderful force of motivation! It sounds like you have some amazing friends that call you to be your very best. You are truly blessed! Happy 50-1/2 birthday!

    Like

  6. McGuffy Ann says:

    I agree with Josie, in that you are very blessed. Giving such credit to your support system, they are blessed as well. Well done.

    Like

  7. Zoe Byrd says:

    You may be just a tad biased.

    Like

  8. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thanks josie…I am very lucky.

    Like

  9. Zoe Byrd says:

    Aw thanks…I love em all…they make it easy.

    Like

  10. Patricia says:

    We are rich when we have friends that make us more than we ever could be without them.

    Like

  11. Old says:

    Birthdays come round quick enough without counting the halves! It is a lucky person that will be able to say well that's all done nothing left to do…almost disheartening. In life it is better to try to understand than to criticize, to look for the good in people and not the bad. It sounds as though you have great friends.

    Like

  12. Zoe Byrd says:

    oops I think I deleted your comment by accident sorry!

    Like

  13. Zoe Byrd says:

    we miss the 50th so decided to party on the 15 and a half. I do have great friends!

    Like

  14. Jean says:

    You are the one in totally beautifulness!!! Happy Birthday!
    all love, jean

    Like

  15. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thank you jean! I can't say enough that it was in aug. But hey…fun to celebrate in january too!

    Like

  16. Robin says:

    Happy 50 ½! Some wise lady told me that great friends draw great friends. Seems to be true, at least in your case.

    Like

  17. jm says:

    Dear Zoe, You are indeed worth celebrating!! All fifty and a halfs of you!! Three cheers and here's to the next fifty-two. xo!

    Like

  18. Love. And happy 1/2 birthday! 🙂

    Like

  19. Great, happy 50 and 1/2 birthday! : )

    Like

  20. Zoe Byrd says:

    THank you my dear!

    Like

  21. Zoe Byrd says:

    you as well my sister is fiftyhood!

    Like

  22. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thank you Natalie!

    Like

  23. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thanks Joseph… I don't feel a day over fifty!

    Like

  24. Zoe Byrd says:

    OH thanks so much… I miss you ! I am so happy to see you here!

    Like

Well?

