Diversions

This thing began as jest; I never meant
For any store to be set by our merriment
Yet on we went, both eager for our fun
This fantasy less easily undone

Those honeyed words poured easily from our heads
But only words – no changes to our beds
And no harm done – yet inklings of these lies
Some corner of my knavish heart despise

Forsooth they do make mockery of my vow
Those promises signed: “Eternity, from now.”
“Thee only” “No man shall tear asunder”
But for mine eyes, so many hold such wonder

I sit entrenched, untouched and so alone
Attention’s spotlight thrills me to the bone
I bask in those diversions whom I find
As still hands ere belie my wandering mind.

4 comments on “Diversions

  1. Zoe Byrd says:

    I so love the language in this. I think I understand it all I'm not really sure. But I suppose poetry is what we find in it…sounds like things have improved but have some room to change more…

    Like

  2. Considerer says:

    I'm glad you love the language. I know it's ridiculous to even BEGIN to compare myself, but I've been reading the Dream, and the style (I hope) rubbed off a little.

    I'd say your assessment is accurate. Much room for improvement, with distractions in the meantime which I should beware of, I think.

    Like

  3. wampumhome says:

    Beautifully written. I enjoyed stopping by for my first visit.

    Like

  4. Considerer says:

    Thanks Kim 🙂 Feel free to poke around. The site's not very high-tech, but there are some lovely poems about the place 🙂

    Like

Well?

