Day 7: Today’s prompt is to write a narrative poem about an event. I wrote about stealing my dog Skip from the shelter about 15 minutes before he was to be “put down” for being too mean, old, and untrainable. (fyi…I went back and paid for him after he was safe.) He’s a great dog. Z~


                                                Octpowrimo7

CANICHE

He had never heard not to bite the hand that fed him
It wouldn’t have mattered
He bit me on the leg

I went to do a good deed and came home with another stray
Another of the abandoned who’d lost heart
He came with an attitude
expecting more of the same
but over time he could be won


 He cleaned up good
 A hard crunchy outside wrapped around a soft mooshy center
Unsuspecting, he walked out with me that day

Narrowly escaping the needle for life on the lam
Although he didn’t know it
He’d come to stay
 

Adding to the oddballs that enrich my life,

Collecting them like a hoarder of souls. Z~

14 comments on “

  1. T2 says:

    You have a new place I see. But the little Buddhist follows. T2

    Like

  2. Zoe Byrd says:

    Until the day that he can no longer, 2 my friend. Thank you for coming!

    Like

  3. Christine says:

    Oh, this made me smile! I love your description of him–crunchy on the outside, all mooshy on the inside. That is wonderful!

    Like

  4. Considerer says:

    I love your last two lines the best. Really gorgeous imagery there.

    I hope I'm counted among the oddballs.

    Like

  5. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thanks Christine, loved yours today too! bittersweet.

    Like

  6. Zoe Byrd says:

    funny, I would have thought you one of my more normals but that in and of itself would make you an oddball! heeee…

    Like

  7. psychochef says:

    Your opening strophe is fabulous.

    And I really dig this idea of 31 poems in 31 days. I can't wait to see what you come up with!

    K

    Like

  8. Zoe Byrd says:

    Laughing at myself… SUCH a poetry virgin…just looked up strophe! HA! Thanks Karen! I need to find time to write them though or Im afraid they will remain a bit anemic…if I need one daily… I may need to miss a few days or repost every now and then! Im gonna put aside a bit of time to do some writing…

    Like

  9. seekingmeme says:

    He cleaned up good
    A hard crunchy outside wrapped around a soft mooshy center…

    This could easily be my husband! I adore this story. You made me smile. Here's to the oddballs!

    Like

  10. Zoe Byrd says:

    Hahaha! I suspect a lot of peoples husbands could be found in those lines!

    Like

  11. psychochef says:

    I'm a big fan of your poetry. This is going to be a great thing!

    P.S. IJUST learned the word strophe a few weeks ago when I joined an online writing critique, and now I'm throwing it around with wild abandon. Hahaha- such.a.dork.

    Like

  12. Nimue says:

    so sweet .. this is exactly what my guy would do .. but i am scared of pets 😦

    Like

  13. Shah Wharton says:

    Wow, what a great close to a cute story! Lovely! X

    Like

Well?

